We Just Got a Birthday Grill

I think that scrapbookers keep up with the hobby because they really like to remember certain things that happen in their life. I know that’s true for me. Sure, doing the actual scrapbooking is great fun, but I also like to have these cool memory books to look back on (which is why journaling is so important. Too bad I didn’t learn that in junior high).

Working on my 2012-2013 book, I’ve had a lot of pages that just have one or two or three photos. I think that living in a house for the first time and being married (for two years!) provides a lot of little funny things that are great to remember.

Just like when I made a page about getting a new washer and dryer, I wanted to remember getting our first grill. Being younger people that own a town home, we really don’t have extra money, so it’s not every day that we get something really nice.

My awesome parents got Tab and I a grill as a combined birthday gift. The photos I had from the event were just the grill in my truck, and where we placed it on our deck, but I had a lot to say. Luckily, only using two photos gave me plenty of room to journal. The story is what this page was really about anyway :).

The photos here are matted with paper from a book keeping/tax ledger. It’s actually one of my favorite things to use in my scrapbook. The lines are fantastic for journaling and I think it adds a little retro charm. The best part about this ledger in particular is that I got it for $.25 at a garage sale. Tab was like, “What’s that for?” Ha! I’m surprised he asked… Of course it’s for my scrapbook!

Background paper by American Crafts, mat an journaling paper from a tax ledger book. ‘Check it Out’ sticker by Lori Whitlock for Echo Park. Letter stickers by Colorbok, and rub ons were nabbed of Freecycle. Small date stamp from Amazon.

My apologies for the blurring, but y’know receipts have credit card information on them.

20130902-230008.jpg

20130902-211037.jpg

20130902-211049.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

